Student Award for Excellence award

Bethany communication students receive three regional broadcast awards

The Upper Midwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) Student Awards of Excellence were announced at a ceremony on Sunday, April 1, 2012, at the Theaters at Mall of America in Bloomington, Minnesota. Bethany Lutheran College students claimed awards in three of the four categories in which they received nominations. The Upper Midwest Chapter of the NATAS includes universities and colleges from Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, and western Wisconsin. Winners include:

College Hockey Weekend: Colorado College vs. Minnesota State 
Preston Schultz, Producer
Reid Anderson, Director
Anthony Miller, Technical Director
Isaac Rice, Technical Director
Aaron Evans, Graphics
Carter Rodman, Color Commentary
Christopher Johnson, Advisor
* (Additional crew members were Collin Aligood, Andrew Asp, David Blumer, Ryan Bolte, Brian Christensen, Scott Fassett, Justin Fowler, Logan Hoppe, Ryan Koch, Nate Mauer, Lindsey Sluke, Alyica Stack, Anthony Valerio, Aaron Wiechmann, and Brian Wentzel) 
Between the Lines
Aaron Evans, Producer/Director
Andy Sorenson, Camera/Grip
Maxie Thao, Camera/Grip
Christopher Johnson, Advisor
Lindsey Sluke
* For her work as anchor of the College Hockey Weekend Pregame Show
NATAS created the Student Award of Excellence to recognize and encourage excellent student work in media. Entries were judged by industry professionals against a set of standards generated by the NATAS. 
The Bethany student recipients will be recognized locally at an awards presentation that will take place on the Bethany campus as part of the production studio’s Festival of Communication and Media Arts in May 2012. Further details about the date are forthcoming.