Brigadoon (2016)

Artistic Direction by Ann Fredrickson
Musical Direction by Dennis Marzolf

Book and Lyrics by Alan Jay Lerner, Music by Frederick Loewe, Original dances created by Agnes DeMille


“Once in the Highlands, the Highlands of Scotland, two weary hunters lost their way.” It is this desolate situation which Tommy Albright and Jeff Douglas, two young New Yorkers, are contemplating when the curtain rises on a misty glen in Scotland. As the two exhausted men reflect on what they have forsaken in the States for their present predicament, a lift in the Highland veil reveals to them the awakening village of Brigadoon; a village which comes into being for only one day in each century.

The strained and strange greetings of the villagers bedecked in 18th century costumes, who have gathered in the market square to sell their wares and to discuss the final wedding preparations of Jeannie MacLaren and the boyish Charlie Dalrymple, are softened for Tommy by his encounter with Jeannie’s lovely sister, Fiona, and enlivened for Jeff by his reluctant entanglement with the maid, Meg Brockie.

The blissful occasion is momentarily tinged with gloom when the fate of Brigadoon is threatened by Harry Beaton, Jeannie’s rejected suitor. And Tommy, now burdened with the knowledge of Brigadoon’s secret and enraptured by the gentle charms of the beautiful Fiona, is confronted with the choice of remaining forever at the side of the Scottish lass or returning to the unsatisfying world familiar to him. At the close of the day he is still unable to commit himself without doubt or regret to Fiona and to Brigadoon, and leaves with Jeff for America.

Restless and unhappy in New York, Tommy finally yields to the haunting memory of Fiona and, guided by the faith and strength of his love, finds his way back to Brigadoon. Like Tommy, the audience delights in the whimsical loveliness of the Highlands, and it is with similar reluctance that they exit Brigadoon.


Tommy Albright: Zachary Rinehart
Fiona MacLaren: Emily Dworak
Jeff Douglas: Daniel Nusbaum
Archie Beaton: Charles Stenzel
Harry Beaton: Caleb Sipe
Andrew Maclaren: Michael Bless
Charlie Dalrymple: Adam Tecken
Jean MacLaren: Natalie Dworak
Widow Forsythe: Beret Ouren
Meg Brockie: Sarah Roemhildt
Angus MacGuffie: David Roemhildt
Stuart Dalrymple: Kristian Marzolf
Maggie Anderson: Katie Sonnek
Jane Ashton: Leah Hagen
Frank: Abraham Faugstad
Sandy Dean: Dustin Edmison
Kate: Michaela Schultz

Jemimah Cordes, Madelaine Cordes, Natalie Dworak, Rachel Kurtenbach, Olivia Lippert, Lydia Lonnquist, Bailey Rogotzke, Katie Sonnek, Noella Wigtil, Haley Wold, Christian Rank, David Roemhildt, Caleb Sipe

Female Chorus
Jenna Albrecht, Nadiya Borshch, Brittany Boyum, Kayla Busch, Jemimah Cordes, Lauren Farquhar, Morgan Gauvin, Ivy Heintz, Kylia Irwin, Kara Johnson, Rachel Kurtenbach, Kiana Krszjzaniek, Olivia Lippert, Lydia Lonnquist, Hayli Mathe, Amber Matzke, Colleen Matzke, Anna Meyer, Megan Morehouse, Rebekka Olsen, Bailey Rogotzke, Alyssa Shields, Tessa Snyder, Isabella Stevens, Grace Stromer, Jayde Thompson, Aubrey Thun, Elisabeth Urtel, Avis Van Zomeren, Nadine Van Zomeren, Sophia Weisensel, Elise Widmer, Anna Wiechmann, Noella Wigtil, Haley Wold, Kjerstin Wold

Male Chorus
Tyler Behny, Hans Bloedel, Timothy Faugstad, Jaakob Maunula, Jon Smith, Ethan Urtel, Christian Rank


Artistic Director: Ann Fredrickson
Musical Director: Dennis Marzolf
Costume Designer: Emily Kimball
Lighting Designer: Jake Yenish
Lighting Board Operator: Patti Lilienthal
Lighting Crew: Caleb Helmen, Patricia Lilienthal, Tyler Voigt, Noella Wigtil
Spotlight Operators: Karee Henrich, Tim Wildauer
Stage Manager: Elizabeth Eder
Assistant Stage Manager: Kasey Gratz
Choreographer: Carissa Ott
Props Master: Karee Henrich
Scene Designer/Technical Director/Scene Shop Supervisor: John Merseth, Jr.
Scene Painter: Peter Bloedel 


Piano: Prof. Dennis Marzolf, Prof. Laura Matzke
Violin: Prof. Adrian Lo, Katherine Farquhar, Grace Stromer
Viola: Kiana Krszjzaniek
Bass: Jacob Finke
Flute: Rachel Olsen, Anna Schroeder
Clarinet: Elisabeth Werre
Trombone: Kiana Krszjzaniek