The Music Man (2017)

There’s trouble in River City! When smooth-talking con man Harold Hill arrives in a small, tight-knit town in Iowa, he expects to dupe its residents with his elaborate moneymaking scheme: Despite his complete lack of musical literacy, he will convince everyone that he is a brilliant bandleader and recruit all the boys in town to form a band, pocketing the cash for instruments and uniforms. The problem? Some of the town members, especially the stern librarian, Marian Paroo, don’t quite buy Harold’s story. As Harold struggles to keep his scheme afloat, he also finds himself increasingly attached to the townspeople, who have all experienced a positive change since Harold came to town. Complicating matters even more, Harold is also falling head-over-heels for the beautiful Marian.

Artistic Direction by Ann Fredrickson
Musical Direction by Dennis Marzolf

Book, Music, and Lyrics by Meredith Willson, Story by Meredith Willson and Franklin Lacey

Music Man


Harold Hill, a traveling salesman: David Roemhildt
Marian Paroo, piano teacher and librarian of River City, IA: Natalie Dworak
Mrs. Paroo, Marian’s mother: Bailey Rogotzke
Winthrop Paroo, Marian’s younger brother: Alex Matzke
Amaryllis, a piano student: Rose Macpherson
Mayor Shinn, the mayor of River City: Christian Rank
Eulalie Mackecknie Shinn, the mayor’s wife: Sarah Roemhildt
Zaneeta Shinn, the mayor’s oldest daughter: Aj Mildebrandt
Gracie Shinn, the mayor’s youngest daughter: Lexi Meunier
Marcellus Washburn, an old friend of Harold Hill: Adam Tecken
Tommy Djilas, a teenager from the wrong side of the tracks: Daniel Nusbaum

Members of the River City School Board
Jacey Squires, owner of the Livery Stable: Peter Bockoven
Ewart Dunlop, grocer: Hans Bloedel
Oliver Hix, a banker: Benjamin Wessel
Olin Britt, owner of the River City Gazette: Nick Bruss

Ladies of River City
Alma Hix: Kiana Krszjzaniek
Maud Dunlop: Eleonore Mumme
Ethel Tofflemeier, player-piano player: Patricia Lilienthal
Mrs. Squires: Lydia Lonnquist

Charlie Cowell, a traveling salesman of anvils: Gabriel Strawn
Constable Locke: Jon Smith
A Train Conductor: Dustin Edmison

Traveling Salesmen, River City Citizens
Emma Bloedel, Broderick Brown, Hannah Bockoven, Maggie Degner, Hailey Dick, Dustin Edmison, Gustav Erlandsson, Abraham Faugstad, Joe Finken, Morgan Gauvin, Caleb Hartwig, Caleb Helmen, Emma Hislop, Kristianna Hislop, Jennifer Hopp, Dexter Jackson, Kara Johnson, Emily Kjeer, Simon Kovaciny, Cynthia Krause, Timothy Krause, Rachel Kurtenbach, Brett LaBore, Olivia Lippert, Jean-Marc Lubiba,Gracen Lukasek, Allie Lyo, Grace MacPherson, Liz Markell, Laura Marzolf, Amber Matzke, Colleen Matzke, Ruth Mayer, John Merseth III, Anna Meyer, Bekka Olsen, Beret Ouren, Alyssa Shields, Caleb Sipe, Jon Smith, Charles Stenzel, Isabella Stevens, Matthew Strom, Maren Thompson, Amir Trotter, Andrew Van Kampen, Avis Van Zomeren, Nadine Van Zomeren, Gwen Ward, Sarah Wei, Lydia Westedt, William Westedt, Elise Widmer, Bridger Woller, Olivia Woller


Artistic Director: Ann Fredrickson
Musical Director: Dennis Marzolf
Choreographer: Carissa Ott
Technical Director/Set Designer/Scene Shop Supervisor: John Merseth, Jr.
Costume Designer: Emily Kimball
Lighting Designer: Jake Yenish
Scene Painter: Peter Bloedel
Stage Manager: Leah Hagen
Assistant Stage Manager: Noella Wigtil
Dance Captain: Rachel Kurtenbach
Set Crew: Gabby Baker, Kenzie Batzel, Jessica Berlinger, Hans Bloedel, Peter Bockoven, Gustav Erlandsson, Abe Faugstad, Tim Faugstad, Nathnael Haile, Caleb Helmen, Emmalyn Hislop, Voldi Kapongo, Timothy Krause, Emma Krszjzaniek, Kiana Krszjzaniek, Kaitlin Large, Isaiah Lippert, Eliezer Lubiba, Jean-Marc Lubiba, Thomas Mamo, Ruth Mayer, Tih Ndang, Kevin Agwu Ogbugha, Prajwal Bikram Oli, Sujay Paneru, Pani Poati, David Roemhildt, Joseph Roemhildt, Michaela Schultz, James Strom, Jade Thompson,  Amir Trotter, John Wagner, Elisabeth Werre
Costume Crew: Kenzie Batzel, Emma Bloedel, Hailey Dick, Natalie Dworak, Tim Faugstad, Karee Henrich, Emma Hislop, Kristi Hislop, Sarah Knutson, Olivia Lippert, Allie Liu, Colleen Matzke, AJ Mildebrandt, Michaela Schultz, Jon Smith, Tessa Snyder, Laura Sonnek, Isabella Stevens, Jade Thompson, Gwen Ward, Elise Widmer, Noella Wigtil, Avis Van Zomeran, Nadine Van Zomeran, Sarah Bloedel, Lydia Grabau, Susan Harstad, Rosemary Hampton, Caitlin Heyer, Laura Kimball, Leah Kurth, Rose Shrader
Lightboard Operator: Noella Wigtil
Spot Light Operators: Claire Widmer, Karee Henrich
Lighting Crew: Caleb Helmen, Liz Eder, Olivia Lippert
Poster Design: Gustav Erlandsson
Playbill Layout: Leah Kurth
Fine Arts Coordinator: Susan Harstad
Box Office Managers: Paul Wold, Jake Yenish


Piano: Prof. Dennis Marzolf, Prof. Laura Matzke
Violin: Katie Farquhar
Flute: Kiara Riehl
Soprano & Alto Saxophone: Elizabeth Austin
Trumpet: Zach Riel, Zach Rinehart
Percussion: Noah Battenfeld, Grace Rysdahl