Gene Pfeifer

President of the CollegePresident's Office Department

Dr. Gene R. Pfeifer is a President of the College in the President's Office department.

Dr. Gene Pfeifer is the tenth president of Bethany Lutheran College, taking on the role in July 2015.

Pfeifer earned a bachelor’s degree from Martin Luther College (MLC), a master of science in education from The University of Wisconsin - Whitewater, and a doctor of philosophy in education, curriculum and instruction from the University of Minnesota.

Pfeifer is married to Carrie Pfeifer, who holds a doctor of education with special education focus from Nova Southeastern University. She is also a faculty member at Bethany serving as a full-time associate professor in the Education Department, and the Learning Disabilities Coordinator.

Prior to assuming the presidency at Bethany, Pfeifer was President of St. Croix Lutheran Grades 6-12 in West St. Paul, Minnesota. Pfeifer also served as Professor of Education and Director of Clinical Experiences at Martin Luther College (MLC) from 1993 until 2007. Under Pfeifer’s leadership, St. Croix saw significant growth in both traditional and international enrollment numbers, and the campus of the private, Christian, college preparatory school expanded in size.

Upon Pfeifer’s election, Rev. Herbert Huhnerkoch, chair of Bethany’s Board of Regents, said of Pfeifer, “The Regents of Bethany Lutheran College warmly welcome Dr. Pfeifer and his wife, Carrie, to the campus. Throughout the election process, it became clear that Dr. Pfeifer’s dedication to the mission of Bethany Lutheran College, his demonstrated leadership skills, wide-ranging experiences, and desire to prepare leaders grounded in the Christian faith, were personal attributes the College could benefit from as it looks to the future.”

Follow President Pfeifer:

Facebook Twitter

Board of Regents


  • Rev. Mark Bartels, Chair
  • Rev. David Thompson, Vice Chair
  • Rev. Alex Ring, Secretary
  • Rev. Erwin Ekhoff
  • Mr. Lyle Fahning
  • Rev. Aaron Ferkenstad
  • Mr. Mark Madson
  • Dr. Joshua Mears
  • Mr. James Minor
  • Mr. Timothy Roemhildt
  • Mr. John Scott
  • Mr. David Sparley

Ex Officio Member:

Advisory Members:

Past Presidents

Send a Message